Site hosted by Build your free website today!

                                               The Layers of the Skins.


Epidermis: This is the outermost layer of the skin that contains four separate layers of epithelial tissue. The outer most layer is the stratum corneum that is about 2 to 30 cells thick. These are keratinized and dead cells that make the skin waterproof! The second and third layer consists of the stratum granulosum and stratum lucidum, which contain cells that are not keratinised as yet. As these skin grows, the cells are pushed outward and come towards the surface. The last and the deepest layer of the epidermis is the stratum germinativum. These cells are active mitotically and have the ability to reproduce, as these cells are living, thus, making them the manufacturing center for growing skin.

 Dermis The dermis lies immediately after the epidermis. The dermis consists of its own blood supply and thus contains many complex structures. The sweat glands are present in this layer that collect waters and waste products from the blood stream. This waste is excreted from the pores in the epidermis along with the water in form of sweat. The hair roots are also present in this layer that help in the growth of hair. When the hair reaches outside the epidermis, the cells are dead. The connective tissue made of collagen fibers are also found in the dermis that help give the skin elasticity and strength.

Subcutaneous Layer: The last layer of the skin containing the adipose tissues, carries out the main functions of the integumentary system, that is, provision of cushioning the delicate organs beneath the skin. The body temperature is also maintained within this layer by insulating the body to the temperature fluctuations.